Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Congressman Gus Bilirakis

Representing the 12th District of Florida

Bilirakis Bill to Improve Air Travel Safety Heads to President to Become Law

September 27, 2018
Press Release

Washington, DC:  Congressman Gus Bilirakis’s SAFE TECH Act, which improves the safety of international air travel by standardizing safety procedures and operations among international partners, passed the House and Senate today as part of the legislative package to reauthorize the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) for the next five years. This important provision stems from a Congressional Delegation trip during which Congressman Bilirakis had the opportunity to review screening procedures at major EU hubs like Amsterdam and Frankfurt for inbound travel to the United States.  Technical standards for safety and operating procedures at international airports are set by international agreements.  The standards set are generally broad; leaving vulnerabilities through inconsistencies with international partners.  The SAFE TECH bill addresses this concern, and improves the safety of air travel for all passengers.  Specifically, this legislation will provide an avenue for 3rd party testing of innovative technology screening capabilities to enhance airport security.  It will also assess the feasibility of linking compatible security technology utilized by the United States and international allies in order to augment screening check points. This coordinated collaboration is an essential element of strengthening global security. 


I have always contended that if we are not safe, then nothing else matters.  During my fact finding mission, I was startled by lack of consistency in international standards and gaps in technology that support precautionary measures to ensure passenger safety. I am convinced this is something that needs to be immediately rectified, and I am glad my colleagues agreed,” said Congressman Bilirakis.


When the President signs this package, SAFE TECH will be the 10th bill the Congressman has authored which has been signed into law since January of 2017.  An additional eight bills he has introduced have already passed the House during this same time period.