Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Bilirakis Announces 2017 Teacher of the Year Awards

May 2, 2017
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Rep. Gus Bilirakis today announced nine teachers from Pasco and Pinellas schools have been nominated for the Teacher of the Year Award. The annual award recognizes those educators who have made a special impact on their students, their school, and their community.

“Congratulations to the nine outstanding teachers nominated for the 2017 Teacher of the Year Awards! Being a teacher can often be a thankless job, but we should take every opportunity to show how much we appreciate what they do for the next generation. We are fortunate to have these dedicated teachers here in Florida’s 12th District,” said Bilirakis.  

See below for a list of this year’s winners:

  • Despina Garos, Leila G. Davis Elementary, Fourth Grade
  • Helen Fatolitis, Tarpon Springs Elementary, Kindergarten
  • Maria Imler, McKitrick Elementary, Third Grade
  • Joshua Aguiar, Sunlake High School, AP Psychology
  • Dr. Jennifer O’Connor, Land O’ Lakes High School, AP World History
  • David Berger, Land O’ Lakes High School, AP English
  • Jeffrey Beson, Jr., Wesley Chapel High School, English Teacher and Wrestling Coach
  • Diane Butler, Connerton Elementary, Special Needs K-3
  • Tina Stavrou-Klem, Pasco County Office of Teaching and Learning

Bilirakis will be visiting each classroom to present a certificate of recognition and a congressional coin in honor of these outstanding educators.